Taittiriya Upanisad

Login before buying the Course

Current Status
Not Enrolled
Get Started

Belonging to the Krishna Yajur Veda, Taittiriya , it is thought to be the first Upanishad Shankara wrote a Bhasya on. It is composed of three chapters: Siksa-Valli, Brahmananda-Valli and Bhrgu-Valli. These are subdivided into Anuvakas (lessons) made up of a few crisp sentences, with measure and rhythm, meant to be learned and chanted as a unit. There are thirty-one lessons, distributed twelve, nine, and ten respectively in the three chapters. The first chapter deals with various Upasanas or meditations, chanting and mental preparation and purity by neutralizing likes and dislikes. The second chapter analyzes Brahman, the reality in terms of the implied meanings of its definition, i.e. Satyam, Jnanam, Anantam (existence, consciousness, limitlessness). It helps one to understand that although the world may have a useful reality, it is only an as-though reality when we are looking into the truth of all three periods of time. This chapter also deftly uses the analysis of the five sheaths or coverings (Pancha Kosha Viveka) leading to their transparency and the discovery of the truth of them all. They are the food, prana, mind intellect and Ananda (happiness); layers which make up one’s experiences. The third chapter is an appendage to the second, further expounding on the sheaths and unfolding the meaning of Pramana Vichara the single and primary tapas for the Jijnasu (one who is desirous of knowing the truth as the limitless Brahman)

An Audio Course (Course Code – AVG2134) on Vedanta Texts- Upanisad : Taittiriya Upanisad by Swami Dayananda Saraswati.